This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

7.8 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
7.8
Comfort
7.3
Property location
8.8
Facilities
7.1
Staff
8.4
Value
7.2
Reviews
    Latham
    au
    7.1
    20 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    William
    us
    10
    15 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Lotta K.
    fi
    7.9
    27 January 2018
    Outdated and a little unorganised. Playing loud house music during sunset at the terrace just doesn't feel right.
    Still has the charm and the view.
    Saleem
    om
    8.8
    22 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Peter
    mt
    5.0
    22 January 2018
    I’ll never stay there again
    It’s tired, run down, unloved, no investment in essential hotel services. Smelly towels, no WiFi that actually works and questionable air con. Our bed had springs sticking through that made it very uncomfortable
    The location is great and it’s an historic building
    za
    5.0
    22 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sergei
    ru
    9.6
    8 January 2018
    Excellent place to active rest.
    Sometime tablecloths and tables in the restaurant were not very clean, but after asking it was quickly fixed.
    Nice hotel in a right place, clean rooms, delicious food with sea view. Reasonable prices. Ocean's beach in 10 minutes walking.
    Steven
    tz
    2.9
    27 December 2017
    It was overpriced decor was bad and service poor for choice of breakfast.
    Food service was bad and bath leaked water over on floor the decor was bad .nightclub next door so loud music everynite till 2 which was really bad wanted speaktoo manager at africa house was told noone there .also book.com should warn customers that they played loud music as we paid 700 dollars for 4 nites with nosleep hopesomeone listen tomy advise would never ever go back there.steve
    Cant say there was
    Paul Goran
    se
    7.1
    16 December 2017
    fair - with good location
    too much noise from the street level. Breakfast not to My expectation.
    good support on late check-out
    khamis
    ae
    5.8
    4 December 2017
    No elevator- Bathroom is small- The air conditioning is hot and sometimes closed- Electricity closes in the morning- A few breakfasts-
    The location is a Little good
    Faris
    om
    6.7
    3 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    CHARULOVESTOTRAVEL
    ae
    6.7
    1 December 2017
    A little dissappointed
    The fact that it is dead beyond 10 pm..No room service...NOTHING to even bite on after 10..The kitchen closes..The hotel didnt have basics like international adapter at the reception..The buffet brealfast is NOTHING to write home about...If u are the kind of person who expects the best...then this isnt for you
    Central to stone town tourost destinations
    J.Gredmo
    se
    7.9
    29 November 2017
    Little expensive
    Fantastic location
    brian
    gb
    7.5
    22 November 2017
    We booked a room with a sea view this was not available when we got there so put in a nice back room told we would have see view next day this see view room was not good so stayed in back room air conditioning failed so put in s another room but loud music from next door so went back to nice room at back suffered no air conditioning last night was good after air conditioning repaired this is a good hotel but unfortunately things did not go right for us
    The location was good sunset amazing staff all good nice breakfast nice hotel
    Ilona
    lt
    6.7
    21 November 2017
    Never return . They do not want to pay the fees and taxes to their goverment.
    Noisy. Reception staff. We booked hotel without cancelation, but money they didnot take from the c.c. They want only cash in their shillings. We need to change money for the best curency exchange rate for him. We payed more in this case. They gave no bill or cashiers chech
    Location only
    gb
    10
    13 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Steve
    gb
    8.3
    1 October 2017
    Character and comfort, but it gets noisy
    The Sunset Bar is a city attraction in its own right but persistent loud music kills the atmosphere. More than once it drove us away to find somewhere else. Such a shame - it has the kind of serene sea view that people travel across continents to find, yet the ambience is needlessly destroyed. Also worth noting at weekends the club next door is horrendously loud till 2am.
    A characterful building in a wonderful setting. Great breakfast, good wine, fabulous views, and a large comfortable room with everything we needed. Top marks go to housekeeping staff who stood out as genuinely friendly, helpful people.
    Geoff
    za
    8.3
    28 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Nicole
    ch
    6.7
    17 September 2017
    Good way to start the journey in Zanzibar
    It's very loud in the room (traffic from the road next the room, people talking, fan, ac). Right outside the hotel people try to sell you everything. A bit annoying.
    Amazing terrace with stunning sunset! Probably the best in Stone Town! Nice staff. Very good food.
    Ivan
    it
    7.1
    10 September 2017
    Breakfast is ok but there could be more variety.
    You come here mainly for a beer at sunset. This you should do whether you're staying at the Africa house or not. We decided to stay on our last night. The place has lots of character although part of the room (the bathroom especially) could do with some updating. Good for one night. Wouldn't stay longer.
Loading reviews
Close