Reviews

7.7
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
7.7
Comfort
7.3
Property location
8.8
Facilities
7.0
Staff
8.4
Value
7.0

Reviews

    Silke
    de

    Review score

    8.8
    18 September 2018

    charming hotel in the middle of stone town

    All employees - from the chambermaid up to the hotel manager - were very friedly and allways very helpful, even if the electricity broke down. My problems with the internet were managed by an own access and password. I really would recommend the Africa House Hotel for a business stay as well as for vacation.
    Christian
    ch

    Review score

    6.2
    17 September 2018
    The room was very noisy.
    Nice hotel with a lot of charm.
    Kim
    fi

    Review score

    6.7
    9 September 2018

    Good location. Good for leisure and party.

    WIFI did not work at all in the room. Extremely loud music from club/restaurant nearby either in the hotel or neighbouring hotel. Lasted from 10 pm to 3 am. Atleast friday and saturday. Don´t know for weekdays.
    Staff was friendly.
    Alexandre
    be

    Review score

    6.0
    5 September 2018
    Bathroom does not correspond to a 4 star hotel. Be ready to get a feeling that you are inside of a nightclub starting at 10pm or be waken up at 3AM by the very very loud music from the same Night club every night! It’s ok if you want to party but if you want ro rest don’t book here. During check out process pay extra attention for every extra fees that thy are trying to add without reasons!!! In our case it was extra 20.000 Tzs for nothing that was remouved after our remark...
    Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Nice view for sun set from the bar/breakfast area. Good location
    Nils Hempelmann
    de

    Review score

    3.8
    27 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Vera
    qa

    Review score

    8.8
    26 August 2018

    Very nice authentic feel. Great view and location

    Pillows were too hard
    Staff were fantastic. Very friendly, courteous and helpful
    Ahmad
    sa

    Review score

    8.3
    25 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    nl

    Review score

    7.5
    21 August 2018
    Rooms are fine, but nothing special and not worth the money in our opinion. Bathroom was old and rusty.
    Great location, everything you need is nearby. Staf is very helpful, also for information about the area!
    Ellinor
    no

    Review score

    3.3
    6 August 2018

    Don’t pick this hotel for your holiday

    We did not enjoy our dtay at Africa House Hotel. The room was just over a market with no sound isolation, so we couldn’t sleep at all with all the noice. The room was also very uncomfertable and in need of renovation. The carpets and curtains were dirty, and the place smelled like mold. The bathroom was super small. We also were scratching a lot, and found bed bugs in a old blanket they had put on the bed. We had to let then know about this ten times, and it wasn’t before we tried to change hotel that they gave us a new room. At check out, they also tried to charge additional taxes even if our booking said «all taxes and fees included». Don’t pick this hotel for your holiday.
    Omoruyi
    ng

    Review score

    7.5
    6 August 2018

    It was good experience

    The hidden costs and difficulty communicating with some of the staff.
    I liked the view, a few of the staff were friendly, the location is prime and the beach next door.
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    3 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    zw

    Review score

    7.1
    31 July 2018
    It's a little dated.
    The view from the terrace.
    NICKVZLA
    ve

    Review score

    10
    31 July 2018

    GOOD LOCATION AND STAFF

    it is very old but also has history
    I booked then tried to cancel and the hotel did not allow me I am happy I stayed, I sleep very well it is part of the history of zanzibar you will see a lot of people spending afternoon looking the sun, also tours around this old british club from colony times all stone town, all zanzibar is is not perfect conditions, when you arrive in the airport the roof is broken the scale are manual, the bathroom of airport did not have water they are building a new one so it is not the hotel, it is the city my room was old but nice, the tour they put me into the sand bank was perfect ask sara in reception, she is very nice and can help you i told her what to see sand bank and the prison island and she managed in 3 minutes they are all very nice people the new hotels in the island are around 4 times to 12 times this hotel price so better stay here save money and do some tours
    Adiaan Meyer
    za

    Review score

    9.2
    21 July 2018

    Great location and view

    Internal door between our room and next room - we could here the other people speak and thier TV. Bathroom need attention (no shower door/curtain)
    Great bed and bedding. Great staff and service Wonderfull veranda with views
    Rupert
    za

    Review score

    9.6
    21 July 2018
    Little bit of street noise
    View, breakfast, location
    ke

    Review score

    6.2
    18 July 2018
    Slow Wi-Fi... Reception area not appealing..
    Good view of the sea from the restaurant
    Baris Demirci
    qa

    Review score

    7.5
    21 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Pan D.
    ca

    Review score

    7.9
    4 September 2018

    We felt safe and comfortable during our stay

    Need some repairs, not all devices worked in our room, air conditioner was super loud.
    You can feel historical spirit of the hotel
    Brokha
    ae

    Review score

    7.9
    1 September 2018

    Nice

    It is not easy to reach the rooms; lot of stairs!! The rooms are old which is fine but the bathrooms sometimes has disturbing smell and the air condition leeks
    The location is perfect; the place itself is historical
    Aileen
    ie

    Review score

    9.6
    29 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews